It starts so innocently …

Lavender

Bell pepper and lots of basil

Pea seeds ready to go! Note no wedding ring … it’ll fit again soon enough!

Behold the beginnings of the 2012 vegetable garden! This is the container division (which may well end up being the entire garden, depending on my levels of productivity later this spring). Thanks to my dad, we were able to get all these containers going last weekend and I’ve been encouraged to see that nothing has died yet.

Mint needs to be re-potted before the season’s first mojito.

I’ve never successfully grown a pepper. Will 2012 be my year?

This time of year always gets me so excited to get plants going, and I’m hopeful that this year I’ll finally get to reap some of what I’m sowing here. However, I have a lot of work ahead of me if I want to get anything into the raised beds or what remains of the flower beds …

Yikes. I actually was pleased that weeds were growing in my raised bed (this means there are some nutrients in the soil) but my dad was unimpressed. Apparently this is not a lot of weeds. Heh.

And this is just embarrassing. (Bloom, brave little tulip! Bloom!) — I’m trying to see this garden apocalypse as a blessing in disguise, though, because I’m going to have to basically dig a whole new flower bed around the back of my house, and in the end it will probably look much better than it did last year. I will call upon my inner Mary Lennox to get this place back in working order. Hopefully. And in the meantime I will remember this:

A good garden may have some weeds.
Thomas Fuller, 17th century British clergyman

