I don’t even know anymore, but regardless, I am determined to make it a good one.

Yes, really. Don’t look so surprised.

So much of my happiness depends upon my attitude. Remember this quote from The Happiness Project?

According to current research, in the determination of a person’s level of happiness, genetics accounts for about 50 percent; life circumstances, such as age, gender, ethnicity, marital status, income, health, occupation, and religious affiliation, account for about 10 to 20 perfect; and the remainder is a product of how a person thinks and acts.

I’m letting my circumstances dictate my happiness way too much these days — it seems like the smallest thing can send me into a spiral. So what I’m trying to do today is live in the moment and stay positive. Just because Will had a bad night of sleep last night doesn’t mean today is going to be miserable. Just because I’m tired this morning doesn’t mean I need to act on my irritability. Today, I am going to choose to be happy and just go with the flow. (I am not a Type A person, but man, motherhood is testing the limits of my Type B tendencies. Not the effect I was hoping Will would have on me! Maybe I need some more zen habits in my life.)

Further thoughts:

  1. It’s going to be about a hundred degrees out today and tomorrow, meaning I may not get in my scheduled run tomorrow — I might go out at around 7:30 pm and see how it goes. I can’t WAIT to get that treadmill, even if it has to stay in the garage … one other thing I’m working on, though, is being a little more flexible when it comes to getting in my workouts. Missing one run is NOT the end of the world.
  2. I did core yoga yesterday but I’m not that sore today. Is it because it was only a 30 minute flow, or because I didn’t work hard enough? Aaargh. I might do it again today because it was a good challenge!
  3. Today we have Will’s two-month shots. I’m not looking forward to it, especially given Will’s aforementioned bad night of sleep (which, all things considered, was not actually that bad. Choosing to be positive here).

Wish me luck! Off we go.

