For the last few years, Steve and I have been listening to the Harry Potter audiobooks while we travel. It’s really, really fun — especially since even though we pause it about every thirty seconds to provide our own commentary and discuss the plot and characters. I try not to reveal this in company very often, but my knowledge of Harry Potter trivia is enormously vast and highly detailed (it’s almost kind of embarrassing how much of these books my mind has retained), and I could probably talk about the characters endlessly, so it’s a lot of fun for me to experience the stories in a new way. It’s like getting to play Mystery Science Theater* along with the books.

Anyway, as we made our way home on Friday night, we got to the end of the sixth book.

(source)

As in most things**, the Dutch achieved superiority when it came to the cover of this book. I just love it.

Apart from the glorious scene in the hospital in which Fleur finally tells off Mrs. Weasley, the end of the book leaves me with some unsatisfied thoughts. For example:

  • Why on earth does Lupin not seem to know Snape and Lily*** were friends? He HAD to have known this. When Harry declares that Snape’s big apology to Dumbledore had to do with Harry’s “mum and dad”, Lupin completely disregards the “mum” part and zeroes in, again, on “Snape hated James”, which … gets old. Lupin, are you fifteen? Regardless of the Lily connection, have you ever heard of gray areas and the idea that disliking someone, however strongly, does not have to mean not minding that they’re going to be killed? But mostly, why doesn’t he know about Lily? This is a serious question.
  • It seems highly, highly irresponsible for Dumbledore, knowing he is dying, to not only leave the Order of the Phoenix without a new leader and some sort of game plan, but to NOT EVEN TELL THEM WHAT IS GOING ON, leaving them instead completely shocked and totally unprepared when it finally happens. Greatest wizard of his age indeed.
  • Speaking of Dumbledore knowing he’s dying, it is (to me) incredibly cruel for him to leave Snape hanging like that. He couldn’t even have told Aberforth about the plan? Aberforth wouldn’t have stopped them. This last act of manipulation and control toward Snape is so harsh and mean, and at the same time so fascinating. (I majored in psychology.) No wonder Snape was angry enough to successfully avada kedavra him.
  • I’m still sad that Draco doesn’t get the chance to take Dumbledore up on his offer.

Next we are on to the seventh book, which leaves me with even more unsatisfied thoughts, so … I am going to have to keep repeating serenity now, serenity now when things just stop making sense, and stop composing imaginary letters to J.K. Rowling pleading with her to write a whole book about Regulus Black. (One that makes sense, please.)

Other not-so-deep thoughts, non-Harry Potter related:

  • Somehow when we were gone a party of tiny ants took up residence in our dishwasher and I have no idea why or how. But I am not okay with this.
  • I haven’t been able to stop thinking about green Thai curry. It’s on my to-cook list for this weekend.
  • Also on my to-cook list: granola. I haven’t had granola since Thursday, I think, and it’s just not the way I want to live my life.
  • Somehow I made it out of Whole Foods today having spent only $33 and having bought only the items on my list.

That’s all for now. Officially back in the regular routine!

* One of my all-time favorite TV shows, which I discovered when I was 13 and which I think really shaped my sense of humor growing up.

** My mother was born in Holland and moved to the US when she was eight, so I’m a little biased here. Hup Holland!

*** One of my favorite things about the last third of the sixth book is the subtle hints about Snape and Lily. I felt so smart at the time for figuring it out, but in retrospect it is SO OBVIOUS. I really love it.

