I was reading Psalm 30 the other night and this struck me:

You turned my wailing into dancing;
you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,
that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.
Lord my God, I will praise you forever.

This is the same psalm that includes the wonderful line about how joy cometh in the morning, which is where my attention had always been whenever I had read this psalm in months and years past. But the last two verses really stood out to me this time.

First, you turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy. Yes. He has done this. I have, in a lot of ways, been clothed with joy this year. I highlighted the verse (reading on an iPad, so 21st century) — but then kept reading. The sentence wasn’t over: that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.

I’ve been missing the point all along. I have been clothed with joy that my heart may sing His praises and not be silent. The sentence isn’t over: my work isn’t done.

