1. Duplos.

image

(Bonus: he’s learned how to smile for the camera. I LOVE IT.)

Will has finally reached the age where he can really play with duplos, and I love it. I was never a lego girl growing up, but I played with duplos for years. One of the really fun things about being the mom of an almost-preschooler is the play! I am not so much a get-on-the-floor-and-play kind of mom, but I am really enjoying Will’s imagination these days. Duplos especially. There’s something very soothing about stacking duplos and often when I’m putting them away at the end of the day I have to stop myself from building more duplo houses, towers, robots, and dumbbells.

dumbbell

(You know, as one does.)

2. The above picture is indicative of another thing I’m totally into: getting up early. (Or, to be more honest, attempting to.) For a long time now I’ve been in the habit of sleeping until Will gets up, but I really prefer to be up, dressed, and somewhat caffeinated before jumping into the fray. This morning I put Anna back to bed in her own room after her 5:30 feeding so I could get some writing done before Will woke up. I didn’t get to much, but it’s a start. I am trying to make this a permanent habit.

3. Story Pirates. I just learned about Story Pirates and Will is hooked. This is a group that takes stories written by children and acts them out. My niece, Adeline, had one of her stories performed a few years ago. They have a podcast where they perform radio plays, and we’ve had it on for the last few days instead of music. It’s really fun to listen to and, although Will is not even three, I feel like it’s never too young to encourage writing and imagination in a young child.

4. This book I’m reading:

quiet-final-jacket

I think I will write more about this book when I’m done with it, but so far it’s been … validating. I have always (always, always) felt a bit like a square peg in a world of round holes, but reading this book has helped me to feel like that’s not a character flaw.

In other news, the weather is like this outside:

image

This is as cold as I can remember it being in 10 years of Virginia winters. Yikes.

